Menu

Home Art Studio -- too "cookie cutter" for projects? What do you think?

Tardis Girl

OK, so I am debating about art... again! I tend to light up at everything new. Not a good habit. :/

Now my eye is considering the Home Art Studio DVDs before the sale is over on Dec 31st. I'm just wondering from those who have used it... are the projects too "cookie cutter" or craft-type projects (versus art)? I remember going to elementary schools and seeing 30 pictures in the hallway all of the same thing -- hence the cookie cutter aspect. And maybe that's not a bad thing if they have fun?? I know people are excited about this curriculum, so I don't want to insult... just honestly asking. If you use these, do you feel the curriculum teaches principles that your kids will actively apply to other creations?

Thanks for your feedback! A bit of my background issues with art is below if you care to read on.... :)

Background:

My kids (7, 8, with a 4yob who would love to make a mess of things) like to do art, and I'm not very consistent with a lot of stuff. The older 2 went to the Barry Stebbing 3-day art seminar earlier in the month and loved it, so I was thinking I'd get "I Can Do All Things" with the DVD. But I've seen reviews about it being boring, etc., and I have to say that I've seen a lot of his instruction through various products tends to be quite redundant...although my kids really enjoyed him and his seminar (with some frustration because he moves quickly for the live seminar).

And I do own a few art things that I just don't use. Ugh.

OK, so I am debating about art... again! I tend to light up at everything new. Not a good habit. :/