Menu

Simply Grammar or Intermediate Language Lessons or just IEW?

Selena

My daughter is in 6th grade this year. I started Simply Grammar with her toward the end of last year & am not sure I like it. Lots of writing, so we do most of it orally, which puts more work on me--I have a son, 8 & a newborn.

We will be using My Father's World curriculum for the first time this year & they recommend the last 3rd of Intermediate Language Lessons, which I've never used or seen. AND I've always heard good things about IEW writing and am looking into using the Student Writing Intensive B this year. From some of the things I've read, that and some WB supplements I've picked up here & there may be enough.

Lots of opinions please? THANK YOU! :):bigear:

I'm not an expert, but we have used PLL for 2 years and now we are going into Intermediate Language Lessons, the next step. Looking through it, I can see it's similar in scope as PLL, but as my ds is entering fourth grade, I do expect more writing. There is a mix of more or less independent exercises, oral lessons, poetry memory work, letter writing, etc. IMO the three areas that need more interaction as the student gets older are grammar, math, and writing.

I don't know the other two, but I can tell you we are also doing Sentence Composing (Killgallon) once a week to shake things up a bit.

My daughter is in 6th grade this year. I started Simply Grammar with her toward the end of last year & am not sure I like it. Lots of writing, so we do most of it orally, which puts more work on me--I have a son, 8 & a newborn.

We will be using My Father's World curriculum for the first time this year & they recommend the last 3rd of Intermediate Language Lessons, which I've never used or seen. AND I've always heard good things about IEW writing and am looking into using the Student Writing Intensive B this year. From some of the things I've read, that and some WB supplements I've picked up here & there may be enough.