Menu

IEW users, please help me!!

Runnermom

I just received my order from IEW yesterday (I ordered Teaching Writing: Structure and Style as well as SWI A) and I am so overwhelmed! I started watching the first DVD today and while I am excited, I am wondering if I jumped the gun on ordering SWI level A because it seems to me that I can just use the 'Teaching Writing'. I am brand new to this and I probably didn't do enough research before ordering this! Thoughts??? Where do you start?

I'm sure the SWI is well done, but personally I don't think there is a need for it.

We're just now starting to use it, so I'm no expert, but after watching the DVD's and looking at the curriculum, I think it can be done with no problem with the history and literature we're using.

SO - SWI isn't bad, just maybe unnecessary?

Skip to the DVD at the back, where Andrew presents level A lessons. Decide if you want him to teach your kids directly, or if you'd rather teach the material yourself. I've heard IEW has an excellent return policy, so if you decide to just use TWSS, they will refund you for SWI A. (I used TWSS along with their theme-based lessons, and it was a good fit for us.)

It is my understanding that you don't "need" the TWSS if you are doing SWI, and that you can just use the TWSS and chose the writing assignments yourself. Are you a member of IEW's yahoo group? There is a group of people getting reading to start going through the TWSS together online if you want to go that route. There are also a bunch of helpful files on the yahoo group.

We are just getting started with IEW as well. :D

There is a Yahoo support group that has given a lot of help- especially Jill who works with IEW. She answers all of the questions, adds supporting documents to the 'files' and more.

I would suggest joining the group and reading all of the posts there. There is a wealth of information available.