Menu

What if Mom wants to earn a degree?

So here's my thoughts:

I have an associates degree in liberal arts, but never went on to a bachelor's. I've worked in the computer field and have experience there, so I'd probably get a degree in computer science. Eventually, dh would like to be the stay at home, homeschooling dad and would like me to work, so a degree would help with that. Money is tight, and my time is even tighter (I have a 3yo at home, and she kicks my butt). This has me wondering what my options are. Can I study on my own and clep test toward a degree? Is there a way I can combine my own knowledge and work experience with a minimal number of classes to earn a bachelor's in computer science? Any good books, websites, or info to get me pointed in the right direction?

I would start by researching the websites and then contacting a few schools you are interested in. They will have policies that determine if and which CLEP exams will count towards your degree. My guess would be that you probably fulfill most of the general requirements through your Associates; you would have to take a lot of specialized classes for which CLEP will not be helpful.

I do not think that your work experience will count to satisfy course requirements; you may, however, be able to ask for credit by examination in courses for which you already possess the expertise. You need to talk to the specific department and the instructor that teaches the course in question.

If you are talking about traditional colleges, most take CLEP exams for only core requirements that are required for all majors. You may already have those from your associates degree, although it depends on the college.