Menu

PA; Pauline, anyone else?

Ds just had his eval, and i think all went well. As soon as she gives everything back it will be submitted, along with next year's papers.

I am wondering if i should continue to submit the letter of approval from a sped teacher. The teacher i used last year charges $30.

I want to submit because ds does have some special needs and his writing, spelling, and language skills are very slooooowly coming along. I hope that continuing to refer to him as a sped student, i could get some protection in later years if we run into problems.

I do not want to submit because i hate to spend the money when my district contact is a moron. When i submitted all of ds's paperwork at the beginning of the year, district told me not to get ahead of myself. All i had done was submit everything required by the pa law!

So should i continue to get objective approval from a sped teacher? Find one that does not charge as much? Forget it since my district doesn't know the law anyway?

I think you might be wasting your money. I'm not convinced schools really look at the portfolios... My youngest had his math in there for the evaluator one year, but then took it out to reorganize it before we took it to school. I found it later on and waited for the phone call to bring it in. The call never came. The call I got said everything was fine and to come pick things up... ;)

I believe our school district mainly trusts the evaluator.

I tend to err on the side of following only what the law says I have to turn in, but IDK how that would work for you if you're thinking about down the line. I would probably just turn in the required paperwork and skip the sped teacher's letter; if the school complains, then you can see about getting the sped teacher's letter.