Menu

New York State IHIP & Ambleside Online

vwsmith

For those of you who are using Ambleside Online AND live in New York state...

I rec'd my IHIP form from my school district today. This is my first year to fill one out and I am curious on what I should do.

Under the English/Language Arts portion should I simply write "Ambleside Curriculum" or list the books being used from Ambeside? Or should I write something else entirely?

Any help would be appreciated :)

For those of you who are using Ambleside Online AND live in New York state...

I rec'd my IHIP form from my school district today. This is my first year to fill one out and I am curious on what I should do.

Under the English/Language Arts portion should I simply write "Ambleside Curriculum" or list the books being used from Ambeside? Or should I write something else entirely?

Any help would be appreciated :)

Don't write Ambleside Online. The law says you can write a "plan of instruction" ("list of syllibi, curriculum materials, textbooks **OR** plan of instruction"). Use educationalese, such as "Orkie will study grammar, literature, spelling and vocabulary, using trade books, silent sustained reading, and other methods appropriate to his age and academic ability."

Here's information from NYHEN. Start at #35.

You have to cite the specific materials listed, not your methodology. They don't know from "Ambleside". They need to know the name of your grammar program, spelling program, how you will address composition, or teach reading, and your potential reading list. Or, some variation of that theme. :001_smile:

http://www.nyhen.org/regs.htm#d

(d) Content of Individualized Home Instruction Plan (IHIP).

Each child's IHIP shall contain:

(1) the child's name, age, and grade level;

(2) a list of the syllabi, curriculum materials, textbooks, or plan of instruction to be used in each of the required subjects listed in subdivision (e) of this section;