Menu

I'll be schooling a junior this year and need help!

My son was homeschooled until 9th grade, went to the public high school for 9th and 10th, and we're going to try dual enrollment this coming year. He'll take AP statistics (math) AP ..... what ever it's called (history) and science.

I have concerns! I want him to be as self taught as possible as I need to school my younger kids.

Last night I ordered Literary Lessons from the Lord of the Rings. I'm nervous but their mailer said it can be self taught.

Now I was planning on Rosetta Stone for Spanish but am wondering why nobody ever mentions that here? He's had 2 years of Spanish in PS and RS told me to buy their 2nd year/level course for him. Anyone have opinions of RS?

He wanted a high school level astronomy class but I can't find one! Any recommendations?

My son wants HS geography and I'm having a hard time with this, too! Is Runkles too "young" for him? He's a pretty bright kid.

Thanks SO Much!

Denise

"Now I was planning on Rosetta Stone for Spanish but am wondering why nobody ever mentions that here? He's had 2 years of Spanish in PS and RS told me to buy their 2nd year/level course for him. Anyone have opinions of RS?"

"He wanted a high school level astronomy class but I can't find one! Any recommendations?"

Denise,

(1) Rosetta Stone isn't a real language course - or least that what many university admissions officers say. As a former Spanish teacher in the public schools here, I have to agree. Does he need another Spanish course to graduate? Our state university requires 2 years of the same language for admission (and it can't be Rosetta Stone). Taking foreign language dual enrollment would be a better option if he needs more.