Menu

Students looking to be music major questions

I know I'm thinking ahead for my daughter who is only in 4th grade.

In high school I was an officer in the choir, leader for the showchoir ( wrote the introductions/speeches we made in between songs), officer in Thespians, Region Choir, tons of I's in solo and ensemble, etc.

There is a children's theater where she is already participating. There is a high school choir at the moment. However, how do you do things like region choir or solo and ensemble??? And will that matter on the college applications? I'll definitely have her do AP Music Theory. (Boy I wish that had existed when I started) I know she won't get credit, but it will definitely give her a good start for her college theory classes.

We cannot participate in extra-curriculars here in Texas.. If we could, it would be easy. I'm friends with the high school choir teacher and am going to help her students prepare for solo and ensemble over the next few weeks..

How about involvement in a good church choir? Often you don't have to belong to a church to participate in the choir, and children's choirs often only sing once a month or so. (Some teen church choirs are outstanding!)

Are there any local adult choirs in your area? Our area has several, and high schoolers can and do participate in them.

Do you live near a college? Sometimes high schoolers can participate in EC activities at a local college.

If she can find a music director who is excited about working with her, the director may create opportunities for her -- singing duets, directing, etc. If she takes voice lessons, her teacher may also be able to help your dd find musical opportunities.

Best wishes!

How about involvement in a good church choir? Often you don't have to belong to a church to participate in the choir, and children's choirs often only sing once a month or so. (Some teen church choirs are outstanding!)

Best wishes!