Menu

Prescribed Metformin, I know what I'm in for with the gastro issues, but...

what else can I expect? Are there any interactions with other meds, OTC or supplement-wise? The pharmacy said I was fine, but I'm one that likes to be really, really sure. ;) Also, can I really expect to have help with losing weight taking this or not? Endo said a low carb diet accompanied with the med should help. (I try to be low carb/grain free anyway, but not as diligently as I would like.) I would love to hear your personal experience with metformin and weight loss, too, while taking it. I'm so discouraged with weight loss because I'm not good at it. :( I am insulin resistant/PCOS, so that is the purpose of the script. I may finally be down the road to getting a hold on the symptoms I've been dealing with and lose weight to really better my health.

I take it for PCOS as it helps me cycle more normally. I haven't lost weight on it, but I was of a normal weight when I started it.

Did they discuss the possibility of "ramping up" your dose gradually? It can help sometimes w/ the GI stuff. I never had severe potty issues, but had nausea that was far worse than the morning sickness I had in my pregnancies. When I went on met the first time (regular, not XR, 1500 mg) I couldn't even look at food let alone eat it. It was not fun.

I took regular (not XR) metformin initially and changed over to XR a few years later. I found XR much easier to tolerate (I was off metformin during that particular pregnancy and had to restart and restarted w/ the XR). If you aren't taking XR it might be something to consider asking about depending on your individual circumstances.

Like you, I don't really do grains and eat pretty LC most of the time.

You have to notify hospitals, etc. if you have any studies done w/ contrast dyes http://depts.washington.edu/druginfo/Alerts/Details/metformin_bulletin.html