Menu

If you make your own bread...share your recipes?

We don't have a bread machine since dh got rid of it. :glare: And I do not own a decent mixer. But, dd and I made a couple loaves of whole wheat bread this morning and used our hands to mix, punch and knead, etc. It was fun and therapeutic. Could you share your yummiest whole wheat bread recipes (or any!)? I found lots on the internet but was looking for some tried and true. I like to use honey instead of sugar. Today we used white whole wheat. Thanks!

This is my favorite bread ever... I got the recipe when I was a baker for our church's altar bread, but I'd always make a few extra loaves for the family... It's sweet and tasty! You can increase the whole wheat flour up to 2 cups of wheat and 2 cups of white, but don't go more than that... I've tried - unsuccessfully!

1 cup milk

1/2 cup honey

2 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons warm water

1 teaspoon granulated sugar

2 packages active dry yeast, approx. 2 generous teaspoons

1 cup whole wheat flour

3 cups unbleached white flour, more as needed during kneading

1-2 teaspoon(s) olive oil

Heat milk until it bubbles. Remove from heat and add honey, salt and all but ½ tablespoon of the butter, stirring until the butter melts. Cool to lukewarm.

In a small bowl, dissolve sugar in the warm water. Sprinkle yeast over the top and swirl with a fork until yeast is moistened. Let stand in a warm draft-free spot * for 10 minutes and ensure that the yeast is alive by observing that it has begun to foam.

Sift together the flours into a large bowl and stir with a wire whisk to blend. Make a well in the center of the flour. Combine the milk and yeast mixtures and pour into the flour well. Mix with a fork until dough is stiff and leaves the sides of the bowl.