Menu

Sonlight/History of US question

clementine

I have never used Sonlight before, but I am interested in starting The History of US next year w/ my 4th & 6th gr. dds.

I have heard that the Core 100 is difficult & geared more toward 7th grade - but the History of US can be used w/ ages 9 & up.

Would I be smart just to make up my own curric. w/ The History of US - or get the Core 100 & go slow? Or....??

Any other suggestions are welcome. Thanks all - this is my first post, but I've been lurking for awhile. There seem to be plenty of wise members to gleen from :-)

I'll just mention that Biblioplan also schedules the History of US in its year 3 (volumes 2-5) and year 4 courses (vol. 6-10 I think). We will be doing this with an 8 year old, using History of US as a read aloud. Of course Biblioplan schedules many other books too, including SOTW, readers in 3 age brackets, and family read alouds. It does not include any discussion questions on the books. Whether or not Biblioplan meets your needs, it might help you just to know that other folks use History of US and use it with younger kids.

Is there a specific reason A History of US appeals to you right now? Personally, for 4th and 6th, I would chose something else...like Winter Promises The American Crossing I which is a new curriculum set for 4th -7th grades. ;) It looks fun! Very Charlotte Masony. :D

I have used SL's Core 100 and it was excellent...our very favorite SL Core. We used it for our 9th/10th grade American History credit and just added in a few more difficult readers (my boys were in 9th and 10th grades). I personally would wait and use SL's Core 100 when your children are in, say, 7th and 9th grades (if you want to keep them working together). I personally see no reason to use it now when there are other options available at grade level.