Menu

What curriculum information does your school provide to parents?

We have a new school Principal and I'm thinking of going to see her to ask that teachers provide parents with clear curriculum information in the new school year.

When the school year began in February, I politely asked both the classroom teacher and the Principal if they would provide some 'parent-friendly' information telling us what the children would be learning. In both cases I was referred to the Western Australian Department of Education and Training website. As a former secondary teacher, I was able to navigate my way to the relevant documents, only to find that for early childhood mathematics alone, there were 5 pdf documents totaling 266 pages of of jargon and eduspeak. I couldn't even print them off and ask which bits they would be using!!

The classroom teacher was more willing to explain her expectations at an interview I arranged, but I still came out feeling like I didn't have the full picture, and more concerning, that I was somehow out of place for even asking.

What information does your primary (elementary school) provide to parents regarding curriculum and standards of achievement? Any links to relevant websites would be helpful.

Thanks

Katrina

Same here..we're referred to the state web site now. In the past, the teacher would give a syllabus, fairly well related to a certain number of chapters in the text. Starting with the full inclusion movement about six years ago, the teachers are being told what the objective for each strand is and are not allowed to proceed further, regardless of whether the state objectives were acheived or not. By fifth grade, this corresponds to about 4 of the 13 chapters in the text being completed, even in the 'high' class. Most in-the-know parents afterschool or hire a tutor and do the complete curriculum.