Menu

If you use Saxon Math 87, do you go right to Algebra 1 after that?

DianeJM

I noticed on the Saxon site that 87 contains pre-algebra.

If you have used Saxon, did you still have your dc take pre-algebra after 87? Does 87 have just a little intro to pre-algebra, or is it a full pre-alg. course?

This is my first year with Saxon -- my 5th grade ds is doing 65 right now. I'm okay with it and he's sort of okay with it (better than last year anyway!), and if we don't run into any problems down the road, we may stick with Saxon through 87. We are not a math-bright family, just sort of average. No one here has flown through math, it's more like plodding. My ds doesn't really enjoy it, but he does pretty well.

What have you Saxon users done for a progression through the middle grades and into algebra? I'm particularly interested in what level your dc were at by the time they finished 87. Were they ready for algebra 1, or did they take pre-algebra after 87?

Thanks!

I used Saxon with my older children. Back then we skipped 8/7 and went to Algebra 1/2. They have since upgraded 8/7 ( I guess ), and are now suggesting skipping Algebra 1/2 unless your child needs more practice before moving on. I had one child do both books, the other 3 skipped 8/7 and went to Algebra. So I think the choice is yours, depending on how well your child handles it.

It hase been a few years since we did any of them. I am sure others will have more current opinions.

With the current edition you would go from 8/7 straight to Algebra if your ds has at least 80% mastery on the tests. If not, he should go to Algebra 1/2 before moving to Algebra. My oldest ds did 8/7 last year as a 6th grader and is now doing Algebra as a 7th grader. I have two 5th graders who are currently doing 7/6 and will move to 8/7 next year.

Edited by dani3boys

I don't know if Jann knows how many of her messages I save.:)

Here's an excerpt: