Menu

My turn to ask for review- 6th grade

Carrie12345

Math- Saxon Algebra 1/2 (He was skipped ahead in ps math, so I think this is where he fits, but we still have to do placement testing. Looking at it, I think he would pass for Alg1, but I'm not comfortable with that.)

Logic- Critical Thinking books 1&2

Latin- Latina Christiana I (I have no Latin experience, but he is a language wiz. This has been a tough choice)

Typing- Mavis Beacon

Music- Piano Lessons, maybe dabbling in guitar

The Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra

Biographies and CDs of ds's choosing

Art- The Complete Book of Drawing

Start Exploring Masterpieces

Let's Meet Famous Artists (I bought the last two for his sisters, and he's fascinated!)

Science- Prentice Hall Life Science (or K-12, if his father chooses)

Language Arts- Vocabulary From Classical Roots (A&B)

Voyages in English 6

Wordsmith Apprentice

Note Taking and Outlining (3-5 and 6-8. He's had no real instruction here)

History- The Story of the World (finish ancients, begin Medieval)

SOTW Activity Guide

Kingfisher History Encyclopedia

Other sources and WTM-style notebook

Civics- Colonies to Constitution (I can't make him wait for US History. He's obsessed, lol.)

Reading- variety of titles taken from History program/WTM and 6th grade reading lists

On one hand, I feel it's too much. On the other, I feel like I'm missing something. :001_huh:

I am clearly no expert but I would look at First Form Latin instead of the Latina Christiana I if I were you. I think it would be a better fit and is aimed for students from 5th grade and up. I have the beta version and I really like it and am considering it using if for my 6th grade son if we can fit in all our other studies. Take a look at it and see what you think.

Blessings,

Lisa