Menu

Will his handwriting ever get better????

Ds 9yo (nearly 10yo) has atrocious handwriting. His manuscript is better than his cursive but not much. It is legible for the most part but letter size, space, choice (as in upper or lower case) are all terrible. My 4yo ds has MUCH better handwriting than my 9yo.

Now, in his defense, he didn't "choose" a hand until he was about 5 or 6yo (he was completely ambidextrous until that point). I have been doing HWT with him for several years now but it just does not seem to get any better.

Also, if he has a line to copy and he can copy directly under it, he can imitate the writing pretty well but with a lot of effort. But if the pieces are side-by-side and he has to copy it that way, forget it....it's all over the place.

sigh.... will he ever get better?

It aggravates dh terribly. I try to get him to write neater, but he is always in too much of a hurry. When he truly takes his time, it's not too terribly bad. I keep hoping he will grow out of it but then I look at mine and realize it might be hopeless. I don't know if there is any hope, but I'll commiserate with you.

Teach him to type and read up on dysgraphia, a fancy word for writing difficulties. I'm in the process right now of getting an occupational therapy evaluation for my ds9 who sounds just like your son (even the way he switched hands until age 6).

Teach him to type and read up on dysgraphia, a fancy word for writing difficulties. I'm in the process right now of getting an occupational therapy evaluation for my ds9 who sounds just like your son (even the way he switched hands until age 6).

I believe I may have dysgraphia. It actually hurts to hold a pen. I only recently learned this wasn't normal. My dd makes similar complaints.