Menu

science for future surgeon?

lgliser

Ok, she's only in 5th grade and her mind will change   :coolgleamA:  but she says she wants to be a surgeon when she grows up and I wondered if anyone had any recommendations of a science curriculum or even just a cool book that would be interesting for her.

Edited by lgliser
  • Like 1

What kind of surgeon? 

There are many specialties. Some surgeons use robots to assist them, which can open up a study on robotics for fun. 

There is the obvious anatomy and physiology, with The Way We Work by David Macaulay as one example. Scholastic has a great hands-on paper model called The Body Book: Easy to make hands on models that teach, that is marked for grades 3-6.

You can also study germs (microbiology) as they pertain to instrument sterilization and prevention of complications after surgery. History of medicine may be interesting as well, perhaps Tiner's History of Medicine would work.

I have no personal experience with this, but it looks interesting- not surgeon specific, but an intro to a variety- you can apparently get a teacher's guide and workbook to go with it as well: 

Medical Investigation 101: A Book to Inspire Your Interest in Medicine and How Doctors Think

Guest Hollow's Jr Anatomy looks like a fun choice, but not surgeon specific related.

If she's interest in the brain, there's Ellen McHenry's The Brain as well. I love everything she offers actually!

There are some really cool Anatomy/Physiology Kits from Home Science Tools as well. There's a How To Suture Wounds Course & Kit for those interested in surgery, she might enjoy that.

If I see anything else interesting, I'll add. Looking forward to seeing other suggested options as well, as one of my daughters is very interested in this too.