Menu

bifocal (multivision) contact lens?

I had an interesting visit at the eye doc today. Typing with dilated eyes is also interesting!!

The eye doc sent me home with a trial pair of multivision/bifocal contacts. I have been wearing monovision for a few years but my prescriptions are getting more and more apart so it is harder to "balance".

Are the bifocal contacts difficult to get used to? The contact tech said to give them at least 3 days trial and to start first thing tomorrow morning.

She sent me home wearing a different prescription for monovision to try too. So far, I like this change pretty good, but my eyes are still very dilated. It appears to be better than the prescription I wore into the office anyway. But, my eyes are still pretty big so it is too soon to tell if this is a good fit or not.

If this doesnt work, my only option for clear vision will be multifocal lens. Any advice??

I would love, love, love to be able to wear bifocal contacts. Unfortunately they won't work for one eye.

I'd worn bifocal glasses before trying on the contacts so it was no big deal. But I wouldn't think it wouldn't be any more difficult to get used to bifocal contacts than it would be for glasses.

they are gas permeable.

From what I understand, the soft lenses are somewhat less effective then the gas perms.

They are very comfortable, and so far they are working well for me.

I tried the monovision lenses too; I like the bifocals better. they weren't difficult to get used to at all :001_smile:

Did you have any trouble going from bright light to low light?? The doc and the contact lens tech kept warning me about "transitioning to changing light". I put them in tomorrow morning. They said to wear them for 3 days before committing to them (or not). So far the new monovision prescription is okay. Not thrilling, but much better than the old ones. So, if the bifocals are a bust, at least I can have an option.