Menu

Church cover school or register with local school board?

Kidlit

We have the option of doing either since I am a certified teacher (as is dh). DH thinks it will be better to go with the cover school, and while I am inclined to agree (less paper work to keep up with myself, not accountable to the local superintendent), I have some reservations. Namely, I remember when I was a classroom teacher that when/if we got a student from "one of those" schools (meaning a hs cover), we didn't exactly look upon them favorably. I hate to admit it, but it really is true. I would love to hs my children until they graduate, but there's no way I can say that they will NEVER attend ps.

What do you guys think? I really value your expertise!

I see from your location it says "the south".... I'm wondering if you are talking about AL? We used to live in AL and if I were going back to AL, I'd personally do the cover school. I think there are good and bad cover schools. There were some without hardly any requirements to one I know of in Montgomery that was a "real" church school that allowed homeschoolers to join under a homeschool church school cover. The parents had to attend meetings, follow their regulations (not anything bad) and get approved by the pastor, etc. Your child would end up with a transcript & diploma from them, too come graduation. Anyhow, I rambled. But, if I personally was going back to AL, I'd do the cover school in a heartbeat!

What state are you in?

Here in FL, if we sign up with a cover school, dual enrollment is impossible through the local school. Since I wanted the ability for ds to try out for the local school's basketball team (which he made this year), I had to remain an independent hs'er. I would do the same if ds wanted to participate in band, choir, drama, etc. The paperwork and accountability as an independent hs'er is minimal.