Menu

Latina Christiana vs. Latin for Children

Vrouwtje

OK, in my search for a good Latin program I am now closely looking at both Prima Latina/Latina Christiana and Latin for Children. I have a friend that has Prima Latina / Latina Christiana, so it will be nice to take a good look at those. I did take a peek at the sample resources for Latin for Children online.

Has any of you used both programs? What were the main differences? I understand that there is a lot of chanting in LFC. Does LC have that? I know that LFC offers both pronunciations, LC offers only ecclesiastical pronunciation. I studied Latin in high school, but will have ds 81/2 do a lot of self-study with the DVD (he will be 9 in 3rd grade next year). He is higly motivated to study Latin as he wants to be a scientist.

Which program is more user-friendly?

Which program is the clearest when it comes to teaching the material? What is the difference in quality of teaching on the DVDs?

What about quality of pronunciation?

I saw that LFC has readers, does LC have actual passages to read also? How do they compare when it comes to practicing new material?

They seem to be for the same grade levels. Any differences in level of difficulty?

At the end of each program, which one would prepare you better for advanced Latin?

Any other differences?

Thanks in advance!

I used both last summer, and after previewing all the DVD's for both, I decided that I liked LC much better. I wanted to really like LfC, but LC has and continues to give me a better understanding of Latin. I like Leigh Lowe and her approach and my boys like her too. We watch the DVD on Mon and then they copy the lesson and do the workbook on the following days. I wish it had fun jingles like LfC, but not enough to switch.

LfC has a lot of extras that can be a blessing, or a curse. I wanted to do about 20- 30 minutes of Latin a day, but LfC was taking us much longer.