Menu

Sonlight 3/4 - What's your experience? Thanks!

arcara

I have pretty much decided to do a year of US history for my 4th grader next year. I've been trying to figure out how to put this all together. The, I realized that Sonlight had a program that did just this! Sonlight 3/4!

However, I have NO personal experience with Sonlight. I've heard good things about it, though. I'm looking for advice, experienced opinions, etc. of this program to see if it's a realistic option for us next year. I'm just looking at the history and literature part, not the core.

TIA!

Well I have the full SL3 core (along with a whole bunch of american history stuff like VP, Hakim, TQ, Guerber, you name it), but I've decided to do WP AC1 with my dd. The users with 4th gr girls that I've found (searching various boards) seem to be phenomenally happy, and now I know why. See between last year and this, my dd really took a leap. She really needs to OUTPUT more, and the writing component of WP AC in the TT activities is just right. SL was just going to be a bunch of reading for us, and I wanted her to write history, do history. I thought about having her do WTM-style paragraphs, but that was going to be such a drag compared to the interesting writing assignments in the TT stuff (newspapers, etc.) The books are totally different too. The SL books are good on audio, the real classics, but the WP books are so engrossing, with pictures of colonial life, etc. My dd wants to DO history, and WP is going to make it easy for me to do that. Of course I have a baby and needed everything fully scheduled. You could do your SL3 and add on TT yourself, no problem. I wouldn't do 3+4, me personally, no need to rush.

Check out WP AC and see what you think. http://www.winterpromise.com (WP AC=Winter Promise American Crossing) It uses Time Travelers as a spine, and you can see samples of them and everything you make with them on the Homeschool in the Woods website.