Menu

Book Shark for Crisis Homeschoolers in VA?

knitgrl

We have atheist friends in Va. They were appalled that the ps required their Kindergartener to spend 6 hours a day on a screen for school during COVID spring. They are now looking at Book Shark, and looking to me as a sort of guide, since we've been homeschooling awhile. Their son can read well, he doesn't need any instruction that way, except maybe have him read aloud to make sure he's not tripping over more difficult words. He seems to have a pretty good grasp of math and can multiply. They were looking at Level B. Someone said here recently that their science wasn't exactly fact-based. Could someone expand on that? Is there anything else I should tell them? I've never done a box curriculum before, so this is somewhat new to me, although thanks to these boards, I can tell them that choosing Right Start Math is a great choice. :-)

Edited by knitgrl

I thought I read that Book Shark is "neutral" which means that they will avoid discussion of evolution and perhaps the age of the earth? If so, your friends could handle those issues separately to the extent needed in kindergarten. I wouldn't recommend that approach for k-12, but if they are planning on a year (or two) of crisis schooling it might be a reasonable compromise.

I thought it was, too, And I wouldn't have asked, except someone on the boards said something about it being less than fact based recently, but that's all that was said, so I am curious. If it's just reading the science books that go with it, it doesn't seem like a big deal, but I don't know what goes on with the Instructor's Guides.

Edited by knitgrl