Menu

Laptop help

Jkacz

All older DS has asked for Christmas is a laptop.  I've been looking into them and I'm lost.  He wants to be able to do his schoolwork on it, but also play minecraft and roblox.  After spending days searching, I'm overwhelmed by the choices.  I'd like to spend about $300 but could go a little higher if needed.  Does anyone have any suggestions or could point me in the right direction?

thanks!

• Like 1

I'm not going to be a huge amount of help (because I won't be able to explain the reasons why), but I work online for a living and need a fast, reliable, and preferably long-lasting system or I'd lose my job.  Three years ago, my computer guy got me to switch away from one of the cheaper Dells (which I'd purchased for years and which would last a couple of years) to a Lenovo ThinkPad.  I just began year four and we're still going strong.  My second recommendation is to purchase through a local person if at all possible.  It's so nice to have "a computer guy" (or gal) to go to if/when the need arises. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

The more RAM (Memory) a computer has, the better. Or, at least expansion room so one can add more memory.  A larger display is extremely nice to have. Especially a "Non-Glare" screen, such as the Enterprise Grade Dell Latitude machines have. We have 6 of those in the house.  However, an "Enterprise" grade machine would probably have a Graphic Card or Chip optimized for Business Applications and he wants Gaming, possibly better to go with a "Consumer" grade machine. Lower in quality, but might be better for Gaming.     If he plans to use the Keyboard on the Laptop instead of an external USB Keyboard connected by cable, it is imperative that he try the Keyboard BEFORE buying the laptop. The things one uses to interact with the machine (Mouse, Keyboard, Display) are more important than what is actually inside the machine.