Menu

Any exciting hi school level cross subject connections to share? e.g.

Recently I started reading Nebel's books about how children learn. He talks about how children (and of course adolescents) learn so much better when they can make interconnections, "understanding comes only as facts are integrated together into a broader, conceptual context".

I'm sure that others of you have found fascinating connections that would be helpful to start that spark of curiosity and connection. And maybe I'm wrong in my interpretation of what he meant (I'm still a beginner.) but I thought I'd give it a try...

We just happened to be studying geometry for math and starting the background of Descartes for French literature. It made both the geometry and at first "dry" French lit come alive when we were reading in the Story of Philosophy (mistake - it was in Mystery of History vol 3) about Descartes. He is the one who started analytical geometry and "invented" the (Des) Cartesian plane. He had a funny childhood where he spent a lot of time in bed and the story goes that he decided to try to describe where a fly was on the ceiling and the Cartesian plane was born....ok this is the beginning. There's a lot more in relation to developing proofs, etc that you can explore so I don't waste too much space...

But I'm wondering what special connections others of you have found over the years that made subject(s) come alive for your children...

Edited by Joan in Geneva
book name mistake

including in high school. The TWTM method lends itself to that. As a result, my children and I have seen all kinds of connections between subjects over the years. Probably some of the most memorable have been with my now 12th grader when we studied 20th century history and literature. I distinctly remember talking with him about the lifestyle depicted in The Great Gatsby and the whole atmosphere of the Roaring 20s. Reading the book helped bring to life and cement the history in an interesting way.