Menu

ACT Advice...

My 12th grader will be taking the ACT again in October to see if she can score higher in math (she is taking her 4th math at CC this year through dual enrollment & was proficient in math on Accuplacer, but she is bothered that she scored 4 points less than she wanted). She did really well with the English & essay portion last April. Should I have her take the essay again or skip it? She is applying, in December, to the dental hygiene program at our local CC. So, she won't necessarily need the essay portion scores. She has taken Eng 111 and Eng 112 to satisfy the prerequisites for dental program. Also, when the time comes to send ACT scores, are you able to choose the best scores out of the two times she took the test..? Hope this makes sense. This is my first of three kids, so I am still learning the ins and outs of college & testing. 

Thanks in advance!

Definitely no reason to take the essay portion again. 

Taking the best scores from different tests is called super scoring, and it is strictly up to the school if they do it or not. Either way, all the scores are sent, so they see all of your submitted results even if they super score. It seems to be less common with ACT; not a single school we seriously looked at super scored the ACT. 

Is the program competitive? Where do her current ACT scores place her as far as being competitive? I would ask that specific department if raising her math score would improve her chances. We have found departments to be open and informative about requirements and competitiveness. 

• Like 1