Menu

Sonlight Core K vs Five in a Row questions

Rainbows

Help me figure this out....Im trying to figure out how exactly a literature based program works. I like the idea of having lots of great kids literature that I can read to/with my DS and then have discussions and some activities based on those stories. DS does like arts & crafts some, but he doesn't want to do them every day. He would like to do other activities that are based on the books though.........so would that work ok with programs like Five in a Row and Sonlight?

I'd also like to have separate math and phonics programs (which Ive already chosen).

I know I *could* just get library books and come up with my own ideas....but since this is my first year HSing and we are kind of doing it last minute, plus I am juggling a 2 yr old and several older kids, I like the idea of having something planned for me.

I know for FIAR you read the same book every day for several days. I think DS would like it for a few days, but by day 5 he'd probably not be into it. Would it work ok if we only did it for a couple days or would that mess up the program? (I have no problem altering the program, just need an outline/starting point etc)

For Sonlight, do you only read parts of books daily? Or do you read the whole book? I can't remember where I read it but I think I saw some teacher guide excerpt and it had you only reading a chapter a day (but that may just apply to older levels)

So, any input would be great! thanks :)

For Sonlight K, you read parts of different books each day (a 2 page spread, several pages, or a chapter, depending on the book). This drove me nuts -- some of the books were so short that my dd could easily listen to much more in one sitting. It felt so choppy. So we switched to FIAR.