Menu

how to grade a literature class?

Hi, all - former high school English teacher here, considering teaching a home school high school lit class composed of novel discussion (Adam Andrews style) and composition (I teach kids how to write papers, they write them, I grade them, according to a pre-determined evaluation sheet).

I would like the class to be thorough but also enjoyable; it would be a live class, with group discussion.

How in the world would I grade something like that? (When I was a high school teacher, I would answer this question with canned comprehension quizzes, vocab activities, and objective tests; my consideration of literature and actually all of education has shifted since home schooling my own kids, but - I'm having a hard time translating that shift into grades for high school. My own kids are not in high school yet.)

Appreciate any help or BTDT - I'm optimistic, but would like to have answers before enrolling kids, kwim?

I grade based on:

Unit assignments--These are usually marking the text with elements such as symbolism or major themes of the book. Their book must be marked before discussion. Edited to add: I check that the books are marked, but I don't go through and grade the marking. I expect students will share some of their insights and elements they noticed in our discussion.

Occasional quizzes--Usually if I sense some slacking in their reading. I make them up on the spot, flipping through the text.

Discussion--I want everyone to say something and contribute. I understand that some will more than others. As long as everyone appears to be alert and part of things, they get full credit for this.

Papers--Short, easy ones in response to a unit + one big literary analysis per semester.

I do write a final exam composed of literary terms, major themes, and an essay of some sort. However, if you don't want to write a test, just consider the big literary analysis paper to be their final exam.

Edited by Harriet Vane
  • Like 2