Menu

Grad school and homeschooling

juliebee

I have been accepted into grad school and was wondering if anyone else has done grad school full-time and homeschooled a kindergartener while working part-time? I have a good support system but am worried about the amount of time each will take. I know my workload will be heavy and hers will be light (we are going to concentrate on reading and math with science and history thrown in on occasion.) I will be working 1-2 days a week (12 hr shifts.) Can this be done?

I'm an undergraduate in school full time, but I started when my son was in high school. Are you going to be doing classes online or in person? What other expectations/ responsibilities fall to you? Household stuff, cooking, shopping etc? 

I know even as an undergrad with a self-sufficient child, I've had to let go of having an always clean house and scheduled down time. I'm also a single parent, so there was no way to pick up the slack, but no one to have expectations of dinner always on the table at 5 either. 

The program I am in is a hybrid program. Mainly online but have to go to campus a couple of times a semester for 2-3 days at a time. The campus is about 2 hours from my home so these will be overnight trips. I am trying to come up with a rough schedule for laundry and cleaning. I know that the house is not going to be immaculate but I am hoping for presentable. I will have some help but not as much as I would like.

A friend of mine is in law school. Her husband works full time from home.