Menu

Geometry (pls advise if you dislike/struggle with Geom & have btdt) &/or used

Hi,

All my homeschooling life, I have dreaded two things: high school science and Geometry. The former because I really don't like it; the latter because I just don't get it.

When I say I don't get it, I mean it. All those spatial reasoning tests, shapes exercises, three-dimensional drawings, etc. I was a great student in all but three classes during my high school and college careers: Geometry (HS), Computer Programming (with a non-native-English speaking instructor who I could often not understand) and technical drawing.

My mind really struggles with this type of thinking. As I feared, my math-phobic 11th grader (who has struggled with math since Kindergarten) doesn't get it either.

We are using Chalkdust 9with the older Larson textbook) and she is on the 5th lesson (all easy as can be for the most part) and she is just not getting it.

I have a strange idea/solution. We puchased BJU curriculum and I didn't need a math so I purchased PreCalculus (12th gr) math just in case we "got there" at the end of this year. I am wondering if having a second geometry curric might help my dtr - i.e. having two instructors with diff. explanations. (This sounds like a shot in the dark but maybe?)

Is there a DIVE CD for Geometry? (We have never used one - I'm just grasping at straws.)

What would a geometry tutor do/help with? I don't think it is in the budget.

Thanks for any help you can give me?

Lisaj

Btw, I wanted to add a few things. One, dtr has completed Alg. 2 and managed a B- thru lots of do-overs and painstaking side-by-side with Mom sessions. I'm sure we are both ADD - does that affect this type of reasoning?

--Why do I see tons of algebra-related struggles and I-can't-do-this posts and hardly any on Geometry? Am I missing these posts or are we the odd man out when it comes to Geometry?