Menu

Those that use Biblioplan for grades 1-4...

KIN

Do you pick just one spine and use that? I'm getting ready for year 3 and the amount of reading is overwhelming. For instance, the first week it has you read 14 pages in A Child's Story of America on Monday, a section from SOTW & A history of US section on Wednesday, and an entire chapter from SOTW, a section from another SOTW chapter, and more out of the History of US.

I'm thinking of just choosing *one* spine instead of the 3-4 I have. Have you used Biblioplan this way? Or, have any other advice? Thanks!!

No advice as I'm a total newbie in this area. We are using BP ancients for the first time this year with a 1st and 5th grader. I'm feeling overwhelmed as well between SOTW1 and its AG, MOH, UILE, and Victor. Of course I want to add in lots of supplemental reading and literature, that's why I bought BP in the first place. But I feel totally burried right now!

We're starting school on Monday and I have the first two weeks planned. We'll see what happens, but I may well drop some things and go with 1 spine.

I'm sitting down now with all the spines and am going to read through the first few weeks. I don't know why it's overwhelming me so much this year! We've used it the past 2 years, but I think I stuck more with just SOTW. Year 3 has many days that SOTW isn't scheduled and other spines are scheduled. Yet, it *does* use all of SOTW, it just adds much more. I use Biblioplan too for the literature selections.

that you are only supposed to choose one or two of the spines to use. They give you several options to choose from, depending on the ages of your children. Now I have not used Biblioplan yet, but I own the Ancients and Med./Ren plans, and this is how others I know have used it.