Menu

Which Geometry for DD12?

I guess the title sums it up. Here is a little background:

We pulled DD12 from PS in 4th grade because she was bored and was ready for more than the school was able to give (especially in math). Since then, she has flown through Singapore Standards Math 4-6, BJU Pre-algebra, and is almost finished with Lial's Algebra 1. She has always practically self-taught herself math and only has questions occasionally for me to answer. I know she understands the material because I will sometimes sit with her to be certain and I assign her every section, whether she thinks she knows the material or not. Also, her test scores are always A's. She truly just "gets" math.

I do not think she would like a video based program because once she gets the concept, she wants to practice it with the exercises and move on.

Also, we are planning on sending her to PS in high school, so it has to be something that the school would recognize as a solid geometry program, Not something like LOF. I am sure that is too outside-the-box for PS.

Thank you for your thoughts!

One important question to ask is do you plan on covering geometric proofs? Not all textbooks do and some only lightly gloss over them. Much depends on the level of rigor the course or text follows. If she takes a 'light' geometry this year she could always take a proof based geometry once in high school. But the way you've described her skills and your goals for meeting school standards I think proof based Geometry would probably be the better fit.

As was mentioned I think Jacobs, BJU, AoPS among others cover proofs: http://forums.welltr...ge__hl__+proofs

The second consideration is that grading proofs can be somewhat challenging since there is typically more than 'one' correct way to answer them. See this thread on 'Grading Geometric Proofs:' http://forums.welltr...ge__hl__+proofs

Would she like a program like Art of Problem Solving?