Menu

Do you think that as children and adults mature they become more attuned to rhetoric?

I was thinking about Robin in TX's thread questioning whether or not IEW was formulaic. The whole thread was very interesting to read. There have been some other threads lately about rhetoric.

If I understand rhetoric correctly---this is off the top of my head---it would be the ability to craft your words in such a way as to communicate to the intended audience what you want them to know; i.e., it's the power of persuasion, through writing or speech, to convince your audience of the truth you want to convey to them.

Rhetoric needs to be taught to children as they grow up, but I honestly can't remember being formally taught the art of rhetoric. (Sorry, I graduated from p.s.!) Do you think this ability is learned as people mature? As I write, I naturally try to think, "What am I trying to say? Why do I believe in this topic so strongly? Who is my audience? How can I best convince them of the truth behind this?" I believe my ability to think in this way has grown as I've grown older. In high school, I doubt if I considered writing for anyone else but my teachers. :D

Dh and I subscribe to a national news magazine. In this particular publication, I'm always impressed with the quality of the writing. Of course, since it's a news magazine, politics is always touched upon, and the writers have come up with some incredibly clever ways to convey their opinions.

Is rhetoric taught in writing classes at the college level? Or, are classes in rhetoric given different labels in this day and age? How much rhetoric can an average high school student comprehend, do you think?

I'm really interested in responses to this; this is not just a "rhetorical" question! :)

Sigh. I guess so often I read a very well-written book, or an excellent magazine article, and I wonder, "How can I learn to do that? How do you teach that to children?" Broad question.