Menu

Craigslist and housing....are these scams?

I was looking at possible rentals in the Southern California area today and found a lot of ads for large homes at very cheap prices. The pictures of these homes were regenerated over and over and in different locations. The contact phone was an 800 number.

Are these scams? What is this?? Craigslist is flooded with them and I'm annoyed that I can't seem to find rentals by owners. Someone please enlighten me.

Thanks,

Michelle

There are rental scams on Craig's List...or have been in the past. Someone pretending to be the owner of a property for rent. Only it turned out that they weren't in any way associated with the property--unfortunately after deposits had cahnged hands. ALWAYS set up a time to tour the property. Not a complete gaurantee, but helpful.

On the other hand, I'm a realtor and I sometimes advertise myself and listings on Craig's List.

Have you given thought to using a realtor for finding a lease property? It wouldn't cost you anything...the seller pays the commissions in those cases. (Any landlord I've listed has been a stellar person to work with....I guess not everyone is.)

Much luck.

I was looking at possible rentals in the Southern California area today and found a lot of ads for large homes at very cheap prices. The pictures of these homes were regenerated over and over and in different locations. The contact phone was an 800 number.

Are these scams? What is this?? Craigslist is flooded with them and I'm annoyed that I can't seem to find rentals by owners. Someone please enlighten me.

Thanks,

Michelle

It's more likely then not that they are scams. We inquired about one here that seemed to good to be true, and it was. We got an email back explaining that they were "missionaries" traveling amongst other places to Nigeria. There was also a form asking for all kinds of personal info. We knew then it was without a doubt a scam.