Menu

Can I update you on my Couch to 5K and ask a weight lifting question?

I'm on week umm, I forget! We ran 20 minutes today without stopping, so we are getting close to the end. I'm running (really, really slowly) 3x a week and walking 2x week.

I'm using weights for my arms 2x week, but I'm wondering if I should be lifting with my legs too or is that too much? I'm really overweight (read 65 pounds to lose), and I don't want to push too much, but I really want to do all I can to get healthy again.

I'm also really stiff all day long, what's that about? Just being overweight? Not stretching enough (I usually don't stretch at all)? Something else?

Any other advice ladies & gents? Thanks!

Yes, you need to stretch, it is very important to combat stiffness. I actually use my legs more than my arms when lifting weights. I do squats and also I put my weights on my shoulders and step up and down on a 8 to 10 inch stool. I have been lifting weights and walking for 1 and 1/2 years. I am up to 15 aND 20 pound weights. I have lost 50 pounds since I started.

Kathy, just wanted to say that I started the couch to 5k last week and I'm impressed with how well you are doing. I'm already thinking that I won't be able to jog 3 minutes at a time next week and you just did 20! Way to go.:hurray:

As for the weights, I'm not an expert but I would say at this point doing your upper body is probably enough.

Try stretching more to help with the stiffness. I do taekwondo, so I stretch a lot anyway and it really helps when ever I get stiff. Try to do it before and after running. Actually, try to stretch everyday.

Keep it up. I hate running but keep hoping that I can't start to enjoy it with this program.