Menu

Starting Classical Education in Logic Stage

I have been homeschooling my dd for many years now and you would think I know everything, but I have to ask for help and I hope someone can lead me in the right direction. We have mostly followed a more relaxed approach to language arts particularly writing and grammar. I would like to change things up this year and have more of a focus on writing this year and implement some of the classical education methods. I read TWTM book years ago, but as of right now I cannot remember a thing it said about outlining, dictation, etc. and I am so pressed for time that I doubt I can sit down and read the book to get ideas for what I should be doing with my dd.

Can someone give me the Classical Education for Dummies version of what you do for language arts in the logic stage and also how do you apply outlining, etc to other subjects like science and history?

I just need something to start with that I can implement fairly quickly. If anybody has recommendations for websites, threads on this board, or short books that sum it all up really well, I would appreciate it greatly!

If you want to homeschool with classical methods, you have to take the time to learn what you're doing. You have to make time for reading TWTM or other books about classical education at home. You have to study how to evaluate your child's logic and writing, because answer keys won't be adequate. You have to learn enough Latin to evaluate your child's homework. (I learned that the hard way. The answer key isn't enough for grading translation work.)