Menu

Need advice what to do next in math.

Guest traceinguyen

Guest traceinguyen

Hi, this is my first time to post in the forum. I really enjoy reading comments and advices from everybody. Here is my situation and I need advice. My 5 yr old son is a rising kindergartener. However, I've been homeschooling him for about a year. Right now, he is able to do multiple addition and substraction comfortably. He has been learn about multiplication for that last 2 months and he has a good graps of multiplication concepts. He has been using it almost everyday in life and seems to enjoy it alot. He has his multiplication facts down pretty good, and has been asking me to teach him division. He has taught him self division of 2 by using the concept like "half of 18 is 9". Should I proceed to multiple digits multiplication or should I go ahead and teach him division? Thank you very much for your input!

Guest traceinguyen

I have all the books from Singapore math, MUS, math mammoth. HOwever, I do not really follow any curriculum, those are like references, and I choose whatever work for us. So far it works beautifully that way. Thanks for your reply!

That sounds just like my son. He picked up math so quickly. We started Kindergarten work a year early (he was still 5, but he misses the cutoff by a few weeks here.) I did not use a full curriculum in Kindergarten, I used a variety of workbooks and problems I made up. I love math! We started covering multiplication and division a little, but I was more concerned with drilling the basic addition and subtraction facts before getting to double digit multiplication.

Does he do double digit addition and subtraction with regrouping yet? Can he tell time? Can he do basic measurement and read graphs and charts?