Menu

Anyone here have boys who love to write?

hlee

I have an 8 year old son who is a rabid creative writer. He has always loved to read, but this year his interest in writing stories has taken off. He has tens of thousands of words already written and more on the way.

I am a writer, but primarily non-fiction. I don't exactly know how to encourage him in this area. I don't want to kill his joy in writing, but certainly he could improve in some areas. Should I just let him enjoy the writing and not try to instruct him in this area?

Also, his writing contains so much...action/adventure/fights/blood/even death. Nothing is overly gory, but I wonder if I should be asking him to temper all those battles and such??? Or is this all just normal fare for boys??

Would love any input and advice on how to help and encourage him! Thanks in advance!

I don't want to kill his joy in writing, but certainly he could improve in some areas. Should I just let him enjoy the writing and not try to instruct him in this area?

I would not try to correct his personal writing, anymore than you would correct a journal. But, you certainly should focus heavily on grammar, sentence structure and lots and lots on narration from literature to help him build the skills he will use for his own writing. It will carry over. In his creative writing simply encourage him as much as you can.

Also, his writing contains so much...action/adventure/fights/blood/even death. Nothing is overly gory, but I wonder if I should be asking him to temper all those battles and such??? Or is this all just normal fare for boys??