Menu

X-post on College board. Help me understand higher level math sequences, testing, and

high school transcripts.

Reading some threads on this board, there seems to be a consensus that the typical math sequence for the college bound students is:

8th: Algebra I

9th: Geo

10th: Algebra II

11th: Pre-calc/Trig.

12th: Calc.

Now, when I was a hs student soooo many years ago, only the most gifted students did Algebra in 8th, maybe the top 15% of the class. Currently it seems that more and more students are attempting Algebra in 8th.

What I'm curious about is if NOT doing Algebra I in 8th and instead waiting until 9th means that your student isn't on a "college bound" path. Isn't it still quite possible to wait until 9th to do Algebra I, follow that with Geo and Algebra II, take and do well on the SAT/ACT, and still be "college bound", maybe even on a STEMS path? The "do well on the SAT/ACT" is a huge qualifier.

I'm wonder it the sequence is really all that important if the student does well on testing. Now, I understand that it maybe really relevant to a student who intends to follow a rigorous STEMs path at a selective college, but that is not the circumstances of most American students. Most college bound students are not going to major in Engineering or a hard Science at a highly selective college.

Opinions please??

Edited by Stacy in NJ

I am not an admissions official, but I teach physics at a four year university. There are, in fact, quite a few students with engineering and science majors who did NOT have calculus in high school. It does not matter too much because usually universities require students to take university level calculus classes there. (And I would highly recommend that even a student with AP calc does not use this to skip the introductory courses at the university)