Menu

Third Grade Chemistry: RSO vs. Elemental Science?

elise1mds

I need you guys to point me in the right direction for fall. Everything else has fallen into place without a problem (TOTALLY dumping WWE), but I'm struggling with science. DS *LOVES* science. He'll throw fits about every other subject, but the second I sit him down with a science project/book/experiment, he'll happily and calmly work for hours. So I don't want him to get bored. However, I am not a science-y person and need something that gives me step-by-step directions. I prefer a secular approach.

Here's are my top two choices:

REAL Science Odyssey - PROS: We have used this for the past two years for biology and now earth science, and I enjoy it. It's a familiar format. The experiments and projects are usually pretty fun, and DS seems to learn from them. CONS: I sometimes feel that it's lacking depth, which is something that DS craves. I'm not good at remembering to use the list of supplemental books. (I would have to remedy that one myself if we went with this curriculum, so that's a personal con, not a strike against the curriculum necessarily.) There is no physics curriculum for fourth grade, so I'd have to change anyway.

Elemental Science - PROS: I love the fact that there is a daily lesson plan and it uses outside books regularly. I love the "Want More?" area added right into each lesson, because yeah, I have that kid. I like the simple weekly quizzes, because I want to add quizzes next year and these are perfect. CONS: I see there are 12 weeks spent on experiments out of a book, and I worry about variety. I know nothing about ES other than from reading the reviews here on the board, though most of those seem very positive. It seems to have a lot of writing, which DS hates.

Other curricula I've considered and pretty much discounted: