Menu

History for me?

ThreeBlessings

I would give SWB history of the ancient world/medieval world a shot. Then see what she suggests for high school ages in third and fourth year.

I think they are a great place to start. Failing that, you could always read SOTW. I have a lot of history background but I still read them all before I used them with my kids. I think I read each one in a couple evenings.

Someone at the highschool board recommended the following.... Get a nice notebook and pen that you enjoy. Sit down with Kingfisher Encyclopedia, and write a summary for each page. I think she said it took several months but when she was done, she had a much better grasp of world history.

I just listened to SWB's Great Books lecture. In it she recommends a history text which doesn't have as much detail as SOTW but it's great for a quick overview. You could read that one. It might be Hillyer's book.

Someone at the highschool board recommended the following.... Get a nice notebook and pen that you enjoy. Sit down with Kingfisher Encyclopedia, and write a summary for each page. I think she said it took several months but when she was done, she had a much better grasp of world history.

I just listened to SWB's Great Books lecture. In it she recommends a history text which doesn't have as much detail as SOTW but it's great for a quick overview. You could read that one. It might be Hillyer's book.

:iagree: I would look at either a children's history like Gombrich (I haven't read the Hillyer). Or I would do a history encyclopedia like Kingfisher or Usborne.