Menu

New here - Oak Meadow help

Hi! I am new to this fourm. I am a SAHM with 6 dc. This is our 9th year hs'ing. I have a 2 year old, a kindy, a 2nd, a 4th, a 9th, and a 10 grader.

About a month ago I started really researching Oak Meadow and I fell in love with it! I wish I had known about it years ago. I found a used (complete) 2nd grade curriculum and bought it for my ds. (He is on the autism spectrum.) I do NOT have the craft kit yet. (And he is seriously bugging me for his "main lesson book." :) ) Anyway, we started using the books last Monday. (My kindy and 4th grade sets should come this upcoming Monday. I finally ended up having to buy their's new as I couldn't find any used.)

So we are reading "Jolly Robin" each night. Do those of you who use or used it, read every night or Sunday through Thursday or what? What about "Ben & Meg?" How often does your dc read to you out of that one? Do they read it out loud to you or quietly to themselves? My ds has finished it. He wants another "Ben & Meg" book but I can't find anymore. Should he just start reading another book?

I want to use this curriculum the way it is intended but I feel a little confused. I have read the "process" manual (and feel like I forgot a lot of what it said) and I have thoroughly read the intro and all in the syllabus. But I still feel like I am "missing" something.

Help?

Thank you!!!!! :001_smile:

Hi,

Welcome to the board!

I'm a huge fan of Oak Meadow! :D

I homeschooled my daughter with Oak Meadow last year for 4th grade. This year I'm homeschooling her with Oak Meadow 5, and I'm homeschooling my son with Oak Meadow K.

I haven't used 2nd or 3rd grade yet.