Menu

Anyone who supplement or replaces science in HOD?

blessedmom3

I am thinking to supplement the science part in HOD . Would BJU science work or it would add too much time to the program ? Looking ahead for Preparing & up .

When I look at the science in HOD I just do not have peace using it as is . It looks very light compared to the Scope&Sequence of other programs ( BJU , Abeka) . I do not care for younger grades but 3rd grade &up we are required to test and HOD science just does not seem enough.

I would appreciate any input !

Edited by blessedmom3

What level of HOD are talking about? We are doing Beyond along with Apologia zoology1, and I plan to go through all the apologia elementary books with the kids. I think the science in LHFHG, BLHFHG, and BHFHG might be a bit light. It is adequate though. The older grades of which I have no experience seem fine to me they both use Apologia along with a few other books. LHFHG, and BLHFHG only have science 2x a week, but starting in Bigger hearts science is daily, and includes reading, experiments, and notebooking.

I am talking about all levels but more specific Preparing & up. I am ok with a lighter science under 3rd or 4th grade . However , when looking at HOD older levels just don't compare with a regular Scope&Sequence from other programs . But maybe I am wrong . That's why I ask for opinions from veterans :)

I guess I am just concerned since we are required to test . I have looked at Abeka and BJU S&S for grades 4-7 and it just does not line up with HOD Preparing , CTC or RTR . Maybe is it because HOD focuses more on history ?

For my family science is more important as I have a background on it but I do not have the time and energy to create my own or pull from other resources .

Also I like the Christian basis in HOD .