Menu

Elemental Science Biology Question

JoJosMom

I am a newbie, about to embark on a homeschooling adventure with my almost 8 yr old third grader. I am considering ES Biology. Does anyone know if the program can be used effectively with higher level supplemental texts? My daughter's reading ability is FAR above her grade level. (I wish I could say the same for math...:glare:) Thank you for helping.

I bought ES this year to use with my 6 and 9 year olds. The curriculum does give suggestions for books to use if using with an older child. I think it can be done. The author of ES is on these boards, so maybe she will further respond to your question.

I think it will be fine. I tried to use Noeo with my elder ds, who, like your dd, is a marvelous reader, but found their book selections mind-numbing. I like what I see from ES much better. Plus, even though her reading is far above level, her understanding of some concepts won't be, I imagine. :) And, as a PP mentioned, there are suggestions for "beefing up" the program included that you could use with her.

There was a question just like this recently on the yahoo group, here's what a user responded...

The "First" encyclopedias are on the young side for my 8 and 8 y/o. We use a whole variety of books though... we don't just limit ourselves to what is in the curriculum. There are many other "Children's Encyclopedias" on the topics that you could take a look at (DK, Kingfisher, Usborne). We used one by, I believe, National Geographic for the animals (because that's what we had). You can also put in all kinds of extra books from the library. Basically, I looked at the topic for the week and brought in lots of books around that. It's flexible curriculum for sure! So nice to have a "path" to follow!

We used the program when my dd was 6 yo, so it was perfect for her. She could read the pages, but I still read them to her because we enjoy doing science together. If you have anymore questions I'm around!