Menu

I'm new to homeschooling (and this board) and I'm searching for a LA curriculum

micheller1

I've got three kids who will be homeschooling this year (although I have six children). I really wanted to do Voyages in English but looking on their website - I'm thinking holy bananas batman I cannot afford that!!!

The new 2011 update seemed to incorporate more of a writing program (or so that website says. But I don't have a problem do something else like Writing Strands. My kids need the writing help but they need a good language arts program as well.

I have a 3rd grader, 5th grader and a 6th grader this year. I'm thinking that my last two could probably work the same curriculum but maybe not.

As of right now, my *goal* is to do Spelling Workout, Writing Strands, LOTSSSS of reading (which we do already) and a LA curriculum. I had planned on voyages but I think it's wayyy beyond my price range for three children.

Any suggestions to fill in the missing piece?

Thanks a bunch :)

Edited by micheller1

Christian Light Education (But then you wouldn't need Spelling Workout because it has spelling in it or you skip the spelling.)

Or Rod & Staff English. (I used it last year and liked it. But this year, I want to see how my kids do with workbooks. And I like that CLE is all in one LA. I didn't like that I had separate vocab and spelling.)

Rod & Staff would be ok for combining since it is a textbook and not a workbook. That will save you $$.

CLE is workbook based so you would probably want to buy it at grade level. It's not very expensive either.

I'm doing CLE with Writing Strands for my 5th grader starting in Aug. I just hope CLE goes over well because I really like what I see while putting my lesson plans together.

I've got three kids who will be homeschooling this year (although I have six children). I really wanted to do Voyages in English but looking on their website - I'm thinking holy bananas batman I cannot afford that!!!