Menu

Score feedback

I had my 9th grader take a practice PSAT on Friday and the results surprised me. He made a 62 on the reading section, which I was completely thrilled with since he is a math/science guy. Well, I say that, but his scores were actually pretty even on the ACT when he took it for Duke in 7th grade.

His writing was 52, which I was a little disappointed in. He is currently doing Analytical grammar, and we just finished Season I. I'm thinking season 2 and 3 will help him with this? Anything else we should do to up his score?

His math was 58. He is doing Geometry now. I will have him do the SAT review course as well. By the time he takes it for real, he will have finished through Algebra II and started trig.

So he got a total of 172. He needs at least a 200 to be considered even a commended student. Will he improve that much by then??

Also, have the scores gone up? I was a commended student back when there were only 2 sections. I made a 1220 on the SAT which was around what my PSAT score was. Now, that seems to be considered a wimpy score. My dh made 1000 or something and yet graduated #4 in his medical school class. We talk a lot about how he might not be able to be admitted to Baylor now with the test scores he had then.

Christine