Menu

Abbeyej: About Latin Prep again

dancer67

I am sorry to have to bother you again, and I wasn't sure you would see this down below.

About Latin Prep 1. I have little to no Latin Background, is Latin Prep easy to teach?

I know many Latin programs have pronuncation CD's. Is this a must have? I do not believe Latin Prep has this?

Again, thank you for your time and advice.:001_smile:

I'm not Abbeyej, but have used Latin Prep books 1, 2, and 3. Yes, you can teach it with no Latin background. You will need to learn alongside your pupil, but the answer book will be a big help to you. Latin Prep has a download available of readings from book 1, as well as pronunciation instructions at the front of the book. Remember that Latin is a dead language, so extremely accurate pronunciation is not crucial.

Laura

Latin Prep is written directly to the student, and I while I *strongly* encourage you to work alongside or just ahead of your student, I do think it's very doable without previous knowledge. And, of course, there are a number of other LP users here, in case you need additional help.

There is an audio component that can be ordered directly from the publisher. So far it has been available only as a download, though I think the CD is supposed to be released this coming week. I don't consider it vital and have never used it, but I believe that others here have. If finances are a concern, I would skip it and simply make a short "cheat sheet" of Latin pronunciation to work from. The nice thing with Latin is that it isn't spoken, and any minor mistakes just won't be a big deal. I don't say that pronunciation doesn't matter -- but it isn't of grave import the way it is with a spoken language. And listening to scholars from various countries read Latin is pretty hilarious, because they all bring a fair amount of their native accents into the reading. :)

LOL...............Thank you Laura and Abbeyej:D