Menu

Introducing Myself

Hockey Mom

Hi all! I am brand new to the world of homeschooling. I have three children (17y/o, 6y/o, and 5y/o). I will be homeschooling the younger two. All three went to private school last year and as the economy tanked, so did our ability to afford ps. However, the Lord has blessed us in that the private school gave my oldest child a scholarship to complete her senior year at the private school.

We will be using BJU Online Distance Learning, grade-in-a-box, curriculum. I know many are opposed to the boxed curriculum, but since this is my first time doing this, I felt I needed to build my confidence up before I struck out on my own. :)

So now I'm anxious to get my hands on it! The online sessions don't open until July 31st, so I'll have to be patient I guess.

Both of my boys play hockey, here...in South Florida. My dd played until she was about 11. Hence, my user name.

I look forward to getting to know all of you! :)

Welcome!

I understand the need to do a boxed curriculum before striking out on your own. We've been hsing since the beginning, but I did BJU's K4 program our first year. It really helped me learn what I liked and what I didn't like, and exposed me to the world of schooling from a teacher's point of view.

My boys & I play Judo (except for the 3 yo, who is still trying to master the potty so he can get his gi), hence my user name :001_smile:.

Welcome to the group! I hope your 1st year goes great. I also did the "boxed thing" when we first started, it gave me the confidence and time to look around and see what was out there. I hope you enjoy homeschooling as much as we do. This is a great group for support and advice! Looking forward to getting to know you.