Menu

Need Some Advice

Hello parents

I am new to this part of the forum and also new to the whole giftedness concept. So please bear my ignorant questions.

My DS is 5.5 yr old. I have always considered him to be bright, but not gifted. He learned alphabets and numbers till 10 at 1 yr and color and shapes at 18 months. Spoke sentences before the age of 2. He is very visual and good at making connection and asking questions.

At the age of 4.4 I started to teach him to read. That is when I started to notice something is wrong with his eyes. I took him to the ophthalmologist and found out he needs to wear glasses.

After his glass things got better but still my instinct kept telling me that something is sill not right. I tool him to a full eye evaluation with a developmental ophthalmologist. He was diagnosed with a whole bunch of conditions. His ocular muscles are so poor, he cannot move his eyes after middle line, and he has tracking issues because of this. He has refractive amblyopia, and two other condition whose names I forgot. Also his motor skills are very poor because of his, he cannot walk in a straight line, cannot skip, cannot catch a ball, keeps bumping into things all the time.

After the examination the doctor told me that my son’s visual memory was that of a 10 yr old. And also he is very expressive, smart and has a good vocabulary. The doc said my son might be gifted and his poor eyes are keeping him for reaching his potential. He also said my son is using his brain and his perfectionism to compensate for all the shortcomings.

I am planning on doing the vision therapy, and go on as planned with our curriculum for this year. And as his eyes improve and if I feel the need to challenge him more, or have his IQ tested, I will deal with it then.

Or should I test his IQ right now, so I will get a better picture of what is it that is going on with his child and get the help he needs and accelerate him accordingly.