Menu

Mental Math

Renny30

Hello,

I'm new to homeschooling. My DS, age 8, and I have have been homeschooling since August 1st. He is in 3rd grade, but we're doing 2nd grade math because he's been behind in math for a few years. He has an hour of group tutoring in math 3 days a week with 4 other children at our coop. We're using Harcourt's 2005 math text and workbook. I supplement at home with Math Mammoth, Time4Learning (which I think we'll stop soon - he guesses), and I use Youtube videos to help reteach as necessary.

He's always hated math, but now likes it because at home we're moving at a slower pace. We pretty much went back to the basics and worked on learning the numbers and place value.  He has really done well over past few months.  We have progressed to two digit addition - regrouping and subtraction but he's still counting on his fingers. He will count 4 plus 1 to get 5 or use his Abacus for any problems that he has using numbers over 10. I've tried very hard to get him to use mental math and he'll do it some while we're counting together, but if I leave him alone to work independently he goes back to counting on his fingers or using his Abacus. I've tried removing the Abacus, but he gets frustrated and shuts down. He says his brain won't do it.