Menu

Is anyone's dh a Fireman?

our oldest dd's godfather was a fireman (until the city made him train for and be a paramedic). He and his wife have three girls. The wife often noted that their life revolved around the firehouse - changing shifts, Daddy gone for 24 - 48 hour shifts - and she often felt like a single mom. Now that the youngest is in 8th grade the dad has become our Fire Marshall - a 9-5 Mon-Fri. job that the mom sez the city "owes" her ;-)

So - it can be done. It is just makes for a crazy schedule ,and the Dad may miss many family moments....but then, not every job is 9-5, Mon-Fri.

The job satisfaction, according to our friend, is enormous!

I'm a paramedic, not a fireman, but I work the same 24/48 schedule (in fact, I'm just getting off duty). The biggest problem I have is when I'm dead tired because of a busy shift, especially a busy night. My kids have learned to let mom have a half hour to an hour of "quiet" time before we start the day. I work in a fire station with 4 firefighters and most of them have second jobs, usually construction, HVAC, plumbing, or landscaping type jobs. It is these second jobs which seem to take away family together time, not the shift schedule. We who work 24/48's work an average of 10 days a month (my system has mandatory overtime, so I might have to work an additional shift every few months). Most firemen also have "Kelly days". I have absolutely no idea what these are other than a "free" day off (i.e. vacation and/or holiday time is not charged). The firemen seem to get a Kelly day after they've worked a certain number of hours or shifts. I work for a third service county EMS system, so we don't have these. Hopefully, someone else can explain this concept better. Your ds will more than likely also be an EMT and will, in fact, probably run more medical calls than fire calls depending on the system for which he works. He'll want to decide whether he can or wants to deal with all that running medical calls entails. S