Menu

Any experience with WTMA Grammar?

ByGrace3

I am considering an online grammar class for my dd who will be in 7th grade next year. She is dyslexic and bright, but cannot spell at all. She has had some grammar, but it has definitely been a weak spot in our homeschool...wondering if this might be a worthwhile endeavor? Anyone have any experiences with the class/certain teachers?

Thanks! 

Jessica Otto teaches all the grammar classes. Just an FYI.  

There's a Bridge to Grammar course to catch up to the starting point for Grammar for the Well-Trained Mind, the Well-Trained Mind Press curriculum.  I *think* the I, II, III, IV levels complete one cycle of the workbooks.

I'm not an expert in the WTM Academy world, but thought I would let you know the little bit I do know (or think I know).

What is your goal for grammar for this student?

And, would a formal/traditional outsourced option that likely will involve a lot of writing be the best fit for a dyslexic student who struggles with spelling?

For my stealth dyslexic DS#2 (struggled heavily with spelling and writing, and also with math), what worked best for Grammar was working in short bites together, a lot of it aloud. Any writing part was done very visually on a white board using colored markers and by "parsing" (drawing lines, arrows, boxes, circles, etc. to show parts of sentences and their connections), rather than through formal diagramming. I adapted the Winston Grammar series (Basic, Word Works, Advanced) to whiteboard and parsing work. (But you could use any number of Grammar resources by adapting (like, working orally, or doing it in a visual way) to fit your student's LDs.)